10 Minute Dinner

For some reason, I seem to eat pasta for dinner more than any other type of food. There’s something so good about the easiness of throwing a bag of some dried stuff into a pan of boiling water and ten minutes later having a delicious meal.

Although I love pasta, it can get very boring very quickly if you just do the same old thing with it. I must admit, pasta is what I reach for when I’m feeling lazy, so I don’t always feel as though it anything special to cook with. As I see pasta as such a basic ingredient it’s something I rarely order when I go out to eat (mainly because I begrudge paying £10 for something that would cost less than £1 for me to make at home), but a few weeks ago I took a chance and ordered pasta when I went out to eat. It did not disappoint.

This is basically my copycat version of the meal I ordered when I went out, which made my pasta a little more exciting!

Pasta with smoked salmon, peas and dill

20130409-194038.jpg

Ingredients :
• good quality smoked salmon ~ 150g
• dried pasta (I used gigli shaped pasta for this but whatever shape is your favourite)
• a small handful of fresh dill
• half a cupful of peas
• one clove of finely chopped garlic
• a small amount of fresh single cream
• small amount of freshly grated Parmesan

20130409-194759.jpg

This is a really quick and easy recipe, perfect for a mid-week dinner!

First thing is to get the pasta on as the that will take the longest by far (make sure to salt the water!). After getting the pasta started, fry off the salmon and garlic in a little butter until the salmon is no longer translucent. That can then be put aside until the pasta is cooked.
A few minutes before the pasta is ready, throw the peas in the same pan, just to cook them through (but make sure they still have a little crunch).
When the pasta an peas are done, put them back in the pan with the salmon and add the dill, a small knob of butter, a dash of cream and a good grating of Parmesan.
Season with a little salt, a good helping of pepper and a little more Parmesan if you feel like it…. And that’s it. Done. In 10 minutes!

20130409-195944.jpg

Definitely a lovely and tasty meal!

One thought on “10 Minute Dinner

Leave a Reply

